Navigator: London's Student Lifestyle Magazine
Top promo banner

A glimpse at local Indigenous heritage

Illustration of people sitting around a fire telling stories
Image Credit: Cheyenne Dockstader

According to oral history and archaeological records, the region in which London was founded has been inhabited for over 10,000 years. The Anishnaabeg, Haudenosaunee and the Eelünaapéewii Lahkéewiit Nations are among those who are at home in this land. 

Today, there are three local Nations who are a part of the Fanshawe College, Western University, and London community:

Chippewas of the Thames First Nation

The majority of Southwestern Ontario is the modern traditional territory of the Deshkaan Ziibing Anishinaabeg, also known as the Chippewas of the Thames First Nation. Members call themselves Anishinabek, which translates to “original people.” Chippewas of the Thames is an Ojibway community established in 1760 and is located on the north bank of the Thames River, approximately 20 kilometres southwest of London.

Oneida Nation of the Thames

The Oneida people are known in the Iroquois Confederacy as Onyota’a:ka —“People of the Standing Stone.” The Nation was established in 1840 as the “Oneida Settlement,” and is located on the eastern shore of the Thames River 30 kilometres south of London.

Munsee-Delaware Nation

The Munsees are the northernmost members of a group of villages that came to be known as the Delawares aka the Eelünaapéewii Lahkéewiit. Their original homeland is found along the Eastern Seaboard of North America, with established settlements up and down the Delaware and Hudson Rivers. The Delaware Nation is revered by other Indigenous Nations as “the Grandfather Tribe.” The Munsee-Delaware Nation is located 24 kilometres west of St. Thomas.

With special thanks from Ira Timothy, a Delaware Nation member.

Indigenous Resources


Local First Nations Organization

  • A.I.A.I. — Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians
Social Services
  • Atlohsa Family Healing Services
  • N’Amerind Friendship Centre
  • Nokee Kwe (Employment Centre)
  • SOAHAC — Southwestern Ontario Aboriginal Health Access Centre
  • Nimkee NupiGawagan Youth Treatment Centre